When you encountered this on your signup forms, it means you have activated the "Allow signup on your blog" option in your connector,. This also means that you have the connector set to register people to your site as well as your mailing list.
You can update your connector by unchecking that option, see image below
This is a feature for membership sites. Uncheck that box and that will be sorted for you.